Fermanagh Writers recently held their 2014-2015 AGM in Blakes of The Hollow. Tony Brady was returned as Chair to serve a third term. He thanked the Management Committee and acknowledged its support over the period under review. He noted the increased membership and regretted two departures.

FW Chair, Tony Brady
FW Chair, Tony Brady

He welcomed the re-election of serving committee members: John Monaghan (Vice Chair), Dianne Trimble (Secretary), Bob Baird, John L. James and Tony Viney.  Peter Byrne’s dedicated long term service as Treasurer was recognised and acknowledged by all Members. John L. James was elected Treasurer. Natasha Martin was elected to serve as Assistant Secretary.

In his Report, the Chair recalled the achievements of members whose work has been published and the group’s accomplishments during the past 12 months:

Poetry: Tondo by John D. Kelly in Hungry Hill Poets. A poetry Collection: Honeymoon in Coalisland by Angela McCabe.

Prose: Dianne Trimble’s collaboration in the book Against All Odds by Robert Donaldson. A Collection of Short stories and a novella Twists and Turns of Time by Cait Vallely.

History: Dermot Maguire’s A Townland Miscellany.

Performance: Seamus Carolan’s winning the Bard of Armagh prize for the second time.

Fermanagh Writers continued its outreach to the public by arranging and delivering seven open writing workshops in Fermanagh House. These offered poetry, TV/Film scripting, critiquing, character and plot development, methods for marketing, and writing skills. The workshop programme, featuring accomplished writers and poets, was funded by The Arts Council of Northern Ireland.

In the coming year, Fermanagh Writers will continue to participate in Community cultural activities such as Enniskillen Flive Festival, the Celebration of St. Patrick’s Day, National Poetry Day, Poetry Day Ireland, tourism promoted initiatives and cross-border literary events. Plans are underway to launch a free magazine to be called Corncrake. It will contain contributions by accomplished local writers and encourage young people to contribute and have their work showcased.

In conclusion, the Chair praised the dedicated editorial work of Gordon Williams, and underlined his contribution the group’s development from its early days.